温室气体排放评级

一种系统、透明地比较世界航运船队相对能效的手段

温室气体排放量评级根据各种船舶的能效对它们进行评级,从而提高海运业的透明度,让用户做出更明智的决策,确保未来更具可持续性。

Read More

海运业对全球温室气体排放量的贡献有增无减,预计到2050年,所占比例的增幅惊人,可能会比现在增加50% –  250%。为了实现《巴黎协定》制定的将全球温度升幅限制在2℃以下的长远目标,需要显著降低海运业对世界温室气体排放量的贡献。RightShip的温室气体排放评级提供了一种具有战略意义的市场机制,以提高世界各国船舶的环保标准和能效。

RightShip的温室气体评级

Read More

RightShip制订温室气体排放评级,是为了遏制全球二氧化碳排放不断增长的趋势,响应客户不断增长的需求。它以一种系统而透明的方法来对世界航运船队的相对能效进行比较。

温室气体评级用一种易于解释的A到G的分级标准来对某艘船舶与同等尺寸和类型的其它船舶的理论二氧化碳排放量进行比较。

主要好处:

Read More
  • 以能效和温室气体排放为判定标准对各种船舶进行分级排序,从而提高了海运业的透明度。
  • 通过选择使用知根知底的、更高能效的船舶,协助海运业向低碳经济转型。
  • 能够基于航程和时间来测算、比较和跟踪某艘船舶的排放量,这有助于建立船舶的排放基准,并制订碳排放的总目标。
  • 租船人可以找出更高能效的船只,从而降低他们的燃料开销。
  • 船东可将其船舶与同类船舶进行对比,验证节能增效投入所带来的好处。
  • 金融机构可以通过投资高能效船舶来降低风险,从而确保在资产寿命期内获得更多的投资回报。
  • 港口可以通过港口激励计划奖励高能效船舶 – 减少在港口内和整个航行过程中船舶排放的二氧化碳和其它列为判定标准的污染物。

温室气体排放的评级方法

使用标准的欧洲能效等级来表示一艘船舶的温室气体评级。一艘船舶的相对性能评级为A级到G级,A级代表能效最高,G级代表能效最低。

了解更多

行业接受情况

越来越多的租船人、船东、金融机构采用这种评级,将其作为各种港口激励计划评估工具的势头也越来越猛。

Read More

截至2018年年中,85个企业和机构使用温室气体评级,包括:

  • 贸易量占全球贸易量20%的55家租船人将RightShip的温室气体评级方法作为节能增效的判定标准之一选择船舶。这个比例的贸易量相当于24亿吨货物或大约31,500艘船舶的年运量。
  • 24名船东和船舶管理公司利用温室气体评级来验证节能增效投入所产生的好处。
  • 4家银行和保险公司、2个港口和3个码头也在其业务流程中使用温室气体评级,并且这些数字还在不断壮大。

访问温室气体评级

可通过www.shippingefficiency.org这个公开网址访问温室气体评级,客户也可以通过我们的审查平台RightShip Qi访问其升级版本。

Read More

通过访问Qi,用户可以将船舶的环保性能与其他船舶数据和船队数据清单进行比较,并能获取到更多的背景信息和申报工具。

节能增效措施

如果您想提高船舶的温室气体排放等级,并且您的船舶已经通过了RightShip的验证,我们建议您向合适的第三方寻求建议。这里所说的第三方可以是船级社、发动机制造商或技术提供商,他们会就怎么做可能提高您的船舶评级提出节能增效措施方面的建议。

Read More

在计划进行船舶升级之前,您可以发送电邮到:environment@rightship.com来讨论温室气体评级的潜在改进方法,自愿节能增效或升级措施以提高温室气体排放评级的一些范例包括:

  • “重大改造” – 例如 改变船的尺寸,货运能力或船舶的发动机马力,或
  • “机械/电气措施” – 节能增效的技术措施。

为了验证任何自愿性的节能增效措施对提高评级的效果,RightShip需要船级社或适当的第三方出具一份适用的声明或证书,详细说明开展了哪些工作和为节能增效所进行的改进。

请注意,“操作性的措施”(例如使用低摩擦涂料等)通常不能与EVDI公式分开使用,一般不予考虑。同样重要的是,船只某个方面的翻新改造/升级不能确保所有其他方面也进行了翻新改造/升级。需要重新海试的旧船尤其如此,我们要将最近的海试结果与船舶新建时的海试结果进行比较。因此无法保证升级或翻新改造必然会提高船舶的温室气体排放评级。

船只验证

温室气体排放评级的源数据、假设和文件

了解更多

CASE STUDY

ODFJELL’S BOW CLIPPER

Odfjell set about improving the fuel efficiency of their Kvaerner class vessels in close co-operation with MAN Diesel & Turbo, Grenaa Motorfabrik, ABB AS Turbocharging, and Marintek. RightShip were also consulted early in the project to understand the requirements for verification, and also the potential improvements in the GHG Rating.

The upgrades included new energy efficient propeller blades, rudder-bulb and technical upgrades of the main engine, turbo chargers and shaft generator. The combined upgrades reduced fuel consumption and emissions by over 20% – an outstanding outcome.

The Bow Clipper is now amongst the most energy-efficient chemical tankers in the world for its size, and is A rated for GHG emissions. A copy of the press release for this case study can be found here.

潮汐要闻简报

潮汐要闻简报为订户提供RightShip有关环境可持续性的最新动态。潮汐要闻简报每隔几个月更新一次。

GHG EMISSIONS RATING
A SYSTEMATIC AND TRANSPARENT MEANS OF COMPARING THE RELATIVE EFFICIENCY OF THE WORLD’S SHIPPING FLEET

The GHG Emissions Rating aims to increase transparency in the maritime industry by rating ships according to their efficiency, enabling users to make more informed decisions towards a more sustainable future.

Read More

Unabated, shipping’s contribution to GHG emissions globally is projected to increase by an astounding 50% – 250% by 2050. In order to meet the long-term goals of limiting global warming to well below 2°C as outlined in the Paris Agreement, the substantial contribution of shipping to the world’s GHG emissions will need to be significantly reduced. RightShip’s GHG Emissions Rating offers a strategic market mechanism to lift the standard and efficiency of vessels worldwide.

RIGHTSHIP'S GHG RATING

Read More

RightShip’s GHG Emissions Rating was developed in response to the growing trend of global CO2 emissions and customer demand. It offers a systematic and transparent means of comparing the relative efficiency of the world’s shipping fleet.

The GHG Rating compares a ship’s theoretical CO2 emissions relative to peer vessels of a similar size and type using an easy to interpret A – G scale.

KEY BENEFITS

Read More
  • Increases transparency in the shipping industry by ranking ships according to their energy efficiency and GHG emissions.
  • Assists the maritime industry to transition to a low carbon economy through informed selection of more efficient ships.
  • Provides the ability to benchmark and track emissions per journey and over time, which can aid the development of a baseline of emissions and an overall carbon-emissions target.
  • Charterers can identify more efficient vessels and reduce their bunker bills.
  • Shipowners can benchmark their vessels against peer vessels to demonstrate the benefits of investing in efficiency.
  • Financial institutions can reduce their risk by investing in efficient vessels ensuring a greater return on investment over the life of the asset.
  • Ports can reward efficient vessels through port incentive programs – reducing CO2 emissions and other criteria pollutants in port, and for the vessel’s entire journey.

GHG RATING METHODOLOGY

A vessel's GHG Rating is presented using the standard European energy efficiency scale. The relative performance of a vessel is rated from A through to G, the most efficient being A, the least efficient being G.

LEARN MORE

INDUSTRY UPTAKE

The Rating is increasingly being used by charterers, shipowners, financial institutions, and is also gaining momentum as an evaluation tool in various port incentive programs.

Read More

As of mid-2018, 85 organisations use the GHG Rating, including:

  • 55 charterers representing 20% of global trade who factor energy efficiency into their vessel selection through RightShip’s GHG Rating. This accounts for 2.4 billion tonnes of cargo or approximately 31,500 annual vessel movements.
  • 24 shipowners and managers who utilise the GHG rating to demonstrate the benefits of investing in efficiency.
  • 4 banks and insurers, 2 ports and 3 terminals also use the GHG Rating in their business processes and these numbers are growing.

ACCESSING THE GHG RATING

The GHG Rating is publicly accessible via www.shippingefficiency.org, or the enhanced version is available to customers via our vetting platform RightShip Qi.

Read More

Access to Qi allows users to compare a ship’s environmental performance with other vessel data and fleet lists, as well as providing more background information and reporting tools.

ENERGY EFFICIENCY MEASURES

If you would like to improve the GHG Rating of your vessel, and have had your vessel verified by RightShip, we suggest you seek advice from a suitable third party. This could include a Class Society, engine manufacturer or technology provider to advise of any energy efficiency measures that may improve your vessel’s rating.

Read More

In advance of planned vessel upgrades you may like to contact environment@rightship.com to discuss the potential improvements in GHG Rating. Some examples of voluntary energy efficiency measures or upgrades that may lead to a GHG Rating improvement include:

  • ‘Major conversion’ – e.g. alter ship dimensions, cargo carrying capacity or engine power of the ship, or
  • ‘Mechanical / electrical measures’ – technological measures for improved energy efficiency.

In order to demonstrate the improvements from any voluntary energy efficiency measures, RightShip requires a suitable statement / certificate from Class or appropriate third party detailing the work undertaken and any improvements in energy efficiency.

Please note that ‘operational measures’ (e.g. low friction paint, etc.) cannot usually be isolated from the EVDI equation and are normally not taken into account. It is also important to note that having one aspect of a vessel retrofitted / upgraded will not ensure the same for all other aspects. This is especially so in older vessels that require a re-sea trial, where we are comparing the results to the sea trial recently undertaken with that undertaken when the vessel was new. We therefore cannot guarantee that an upgrade or retrofit would necessarily improve the vessel’s GHG Rating.

VESSEL VERIFICATION

GHG Rating source data, assumptions & documentation

LEARN MORE

CASE STUDY

ODFJELL’S BOW CLIPPER

Odfjell set about improving the fuel efficiency of their Kvaerner class vessels in close co-operation with MAN Diesel & Turbo, Grenaa Motorfabrik, ABB AS Turbocharging, and Marintek. RightShip were also consulted early in the project to understand the requirements for verification, and also the potential improvements in the GHG Rating.

The upgrades included new energy efficient propeller blades, rudder-bulb and technical upgrades of the main engine, turbo chargers and shaft generator. The combined upgrades reduced fuel consumption and emissions by over 20% – an outstanding outcome.

The Bow Clipper is now amongst the most energy-efficient chemical tankers in the world for its size, and is A rated for GHG emissions. The press release for this case study can be found here.

TIDAL NEWSLETTER

Tidal provides subscribers with updates from RightShip relating to environmental sustainability. Tidal newsletters are sent out every few months.