碳核算

一个公司要制订应对气候变化的有效战略,就需要详细了解公司的碳排放情况。以前,各公司都将关注重点放在在范围1和范围2所界定的温室气体(GHG)排放种类上。

Read More

现在,越来越多的公司认识到有必要考虑其供应链所导致的温室气体排放(范围3排放),以全面管理与温室气体相关的风险和机遇。

范围3排放通常是公司温室气体排放的最大来源,在某些情况下可占碳排总影响的90%(资料来源:碳信托理解范围3排放的商业意义).

RightShip可为希望测算、申报和管理航运活动所导致的温室气体排放的组织提供帮助。

战略调整 – 降低供应链所导致的碳排

当我们考虑测算与特定航运活动相关的排放时,温室气体排放的计算过程就是迈向低碳经济的第一步。该工具使得租船人能够进一步管理其碳输出、探寻排放申报和减排的机会。

Read More

RightShip乐意有机会能与贵组织合作,寻求碳平衡航运的途径。这一点可以通过在全球范围内寻找经过认证的项目,购买碳信用额来实现。

核算航运温室气体排放量的好处

测算与航运相关的温室气体排放有许多好处。对于许多公司来说,大部分温室气体减排和降低成本的机会在他们本身的经营范围之外。

Read More

通过测算船舶的排量,各组织可以利用这些数据来:

  • 申报和披露温室气体排放的情况
  • 提高供应链能效并降低其温室气体排放对环境的影响
  • 找出供应链中的资源和能源风险,包括排放热点
  • 利用排放战略创造价值,包括实现碳平衡航运的可能性
  • 展示其减排工作在业内的领先地位,以及
  • 与业内的申报标准保持一致,如:CDP

标准方法和验证 –  EN16258:2012

RightShip的方法与欧洲标准EN16258:2012号(运输服务(货运与客运)能源消耗和温室气体排放的计算和申报方法)一致。

Read More

本标准规定了运输服务中能源消耗和温室气体排放的计算和申报要求。该方法考虑了用于执行运输服务(包括燃料精炼和消耗)的所有船舶(车辆)、以及负载航段与空载航段的温室气体排放。

该标准中的计算以运输服务的特征为基础,例如路线、船舶详情、货物信息、燃料类型和相关的空载航段。

无论运输活动的复杂程度如何,如船舶单程多次装货,标准化和透明化的方式能确保温室气体排放完全按照货物分配。通过允许公司估算碳排足迹随时间的变化,可以做到按特定产品或服务分配排放份额。

欲了解RightShip如何那个协助测算和减少航运过程中的排放,以及在环境和经济方面能给贵组织带来什么样的潜在效益,请联系以下电子邮件:environment@rightship.com.

行业接受情况

我们与海运业的两大巨头建立了合作关系,他们热切期盼率先采用准确、可靠的方式来测算属于范围3的排放。

Read More

必和必拓

必和必拓每年租用1500艘船,其经营理念是:在尽可能提高船队安全性的同时减少碳足迹。其海运业务主管Abrade Karimi说:

“我们的范围3排放已经估算到了2016年,但这还不够。我们需要充分认识我们的排放情况,通过测算并与其他货主进行对比,来有效控制这类排放。通过RightShip,我们能够做到这一点。”

因西泰克皮沃特公司

澳大利亚的多元化工制造商因西泰克皮沃特公司RightShip准确计算其每年包租的200艘船的排放量。公司可持续发展经理Karen Durand认为,测算公司范围3的排放量是实现有效控制和管理的第一步。

“我们使用RightShip确保我们所用的船舶安全、环保,因此要求他们帮助我们测算范围3排放是合乎逻辑的举措。与他们的合作相当简单明确,我们对结果的准确性和可靠性充满信心。范围3的数据来源非常少,据我们所知,其他机构都不能提供这种准确程度的海洋运输数据。”

FEATURE STORY

LLOYD'S LIST

How our Scope 3 emissions benchmarking is changing sustainability in shipping. Read the full story on Lloyd’s List.

Read Story

碳抵消

随着海运组织争相认可可持续性发展理念并希望提高排放的透明度,各个企业和机构可利用RightShip的碳核算工具测算的结果来设定目标,为可持续发展决策提供支持,使企业实现碳平衡航运。

Read More

为了给利益相关者和股东创造价值,在测算出供应链所致温室气体排放量之后,RightShip可从世界上最大的碳排放交易所,CBL Markets购买碳信用额,以抵消企业供应链所致的碳排放。

CASE STUDY

INCITEC PIVOT LTD

In partnership with CBL Markets, RightShip have assisted global diversified chemicals manufacturer Incitec Pivot Limited (IPL) to operate its shipping activity as carbon-neutral.

An early adopter of RightShip’s Carbon Accounting tool, IPL have successfully offset approximately 73,000 tonnes of CO2 for each of the financial years 2016-17 & 2017-18.

Martin Gleeson, National Shipping & Chartering Manager at Incitec Pivot Limited said:

“A key element of IPL’s Sustainability Agenda is around working with our suppliers to reduce the impact on the community and environment. Working with RightShip, we have been able to take proactive measures to quantify, manage and even offset carbon emissions from our shipping and chartering operations. This not only has significant environmental benefits, it is also enabling us to positively influence action on climate change in the maritime industry”.

新闻稿

CARBON ACCOUNTING

An effective corporate climate change strategy requires a detailed understanding of a company’s emissions. Historically, companies have focused on greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from their own operations under scope 1 & scope 2 emissions.

Read More

Increasingly companies understand the need to account for GHG emissions along their supply chains (scope 3 emissions) to comprehensively manage GHG-related risks and opportunities.

Scope 3 emissions often represent the largest source of a company’s GHG emissions, and in some cases can account for up to 90% of the total carbon impact (Source: Carbon Trust – Making business sense of Scope 3).

RightShip offers assistance for organisations who wish to measure, report on and manage their GHG emissions associated with shipping activity.

STRATEGIC ALIGNMENT –
DECARBONISING YOUR SUPPLY CHAIN

As we look to measure emissions related to particular shipping activity, the GHG emissions calculation process heralds the next step towards a low carbon economy. This tool allows charterers to further manage their carbon output and explore emissions reporting and reduction opportunities.

Read More

RightShip welcomes the opportunity to work with your organisation to explore carbon neutral shipping, which occurs when carbon credits are purchased from a selection of certified projects from around the globe.

BENEFITS OF ACCOUNTING
SHIPPING GHG EMISSIONS

There are a number of benefits associated with measuring GHG emissions associated with shipping. For many companies, the majority of their GHG emissions and cost reduction opportunities lie outside their own operations.

Read More

By measuring ship emissions, organisations can use the inputs to:

  • support corporate reporting and the disclosure of their emissions
  • improve supply chain efficiency and reduce their environmental footprint
  • identify resource and energy risks in their supply chain, including emissions hotspots
  • generate value from their emissions strategies, including the possibility of carbon neutral shipping
  • demonstrate industry leadership in their efforts to reduce emissions, and
  • align with industry reporting standards such as CDP.

STANDARD APPROACH
& VERIFICATION – EN16258:2012

RightShip’s methodology has been developed in line with the European Standard EN16258:2012 Methodology for calculation and declaration of energy consumption and GHG emissions of transport services (freight and passengers).

Read More

This standard sets out the requirements for calculating and reporting energy consumption and GHG emissions in transport services. The methodology takes into account all vessels (vehicles) used to perform transport services, including the fuel refining and consumption, and all loaded and ballast legs.

The calculations are based on the characteristics of the transport service, for example the route, vessel particulars, cargo information, fuel type and associated ballast leg.

Irrespective of the complexity of the activity – e.g. single voyage to mutli-load – the standardised and transparent approach ensures the emissions are fully allocated to a vessel’s cargo. By allowing corporations to assess how the emissions footprint changes over time, emissions can be attributed to particular products or services

To learn more about how RightShip can assist in measuring and reducing emissions from shipping, and the potential environmental and economic benefits to your organisation, please contact environment@rightship.com.

INDUSTRY UPTAKE

We have partnered with two large users of ocean transport who are keen to pioneer the accurate and robust measurement of their scope 3 emissions.

Read More

BHP

BHP charters 1500 ships each year and is on a mission to reduce its carbon footprint whilst running the safest fleet. Head of Ocean Freight Operations, Abdes Karimi says,

“Until 2016, our scope 3 emissions were estimated but that’s no longer good enough. We need to understand our emissions so we can benchmark them against other shippers and control them effectively. RightShip allows us to do that”.

Incitec Pivot Ltd

Australian diversified chemicals manufacturer, Incitec Pivot Ltd (IPL) uses RightShip to accurately calculate emissions resulting from the 200 vessels it charters annually. Karen Durand, Corporate Sustainability Manager, believes that being able to measure the company’s scope 3 emissions is the first step towards effective control and management.

“We’ve used RightShip to ensure the vessels we use are safe and environmentally sound and so it was a logical step to ask them to help us measure our scope 3 emissions. Working with them is very straightforward and we are confident in the accuracy and reliability of the results. There are very few scope 3 data sources and, as far as we are aware, there is no other agency able to deliver this level of accuracy for ocean transport”.

FEATURE STORY

LLOYD'S LIST

How our Scope 3 emissions benchmarking is changing sustainability in shipping. Read the full story on Lloyd’s List.

Read Story

CARBON OFFSETTING

As maritime organisations compete for sustainability recognition and aim to increase emissions visibility, results from RightShip’s Carbon Accounting tool can be used to set targets, inform sustainable decision-making and allow companies to carry out their shipping activity as carbon-neutral.

Read More

To provide value to stakeholders and shareholders, once GHG emissions along the supply chain have been measured, RightShip purchase carbon credits from CBL Markets, who operate the world’s largest carbon exchange, to offset the CO2 that is emitted along a company’s supply chain.

CASE STUDY

INCITEC PIVOT LTD

In partnership with CBL Markets, RightShip have assisted global diversified chemicals manufacturer Incitec Pivot Limited (IPL) to operate its shipping activity as carbon-neutral.

An early adopter of RightShip’s Carbon Accounting tool, IPL have successfully offset approximately 73,000 tonnes of CO2 for each of the financial years 2016-17 & 2017-18.

Martin Gleeson, National Shipping & Chartering Manager at Incitec Pivot Limited said:

“A key element of IPL’s Sustainability Agenda is around working with our suppliers to reduce the impact on the community and environment. Working with RightShip, we have been able to take proactive measures to quantify, manage and even offset carbon emissions from our shipping and chartering operations. This not only has significant environmental benefits, it is also enabling us to positively influence action on climate change in the maritime industry”.

Press Release